Rugby and God

The Guardian ran this article last Thursday. It’s a cracker. Scotland and Northampton Saints prop Euan Murray talks about his decision not to play sport on Sunday. But this is my favourite bit of the interview

In finding God, he says, Murray was able to change his path. He picks up a mug of tea and a glass of water and holds them out in front of him. “This is the tea, all dirty and horrible, this is me, yeah? That’s Jesus,” he says, motioning to the water. “Pure. He’s taken that filth upon himself and before God he says, ‘Punish me for it’. He’s been punished and look what he’s given me. That perfect goodness in the eyes of God. He’s declared me innocent.” He swills the dregs of the tea and smiles. Can it be that simple? “I’m ashamed of the things I’ve done. Of course I am. But I’m thankful I have a saviour. He’s saved me from that lifestyle. He’s given me a new life.

2 thoughts on “Rugby and God

  1. Jemma February 7, 2010 / 8:27 pm

    Awesome article – there’s some good coverage in the Independant and Telegraph as well 🙂

  2. Nigel R February 23, 2010 / 7:10 pm

    Makes for a beautiful comparison between his attitude towards rugby and jonny’s (the other article you posted a while back). Murray says something along the lines of rugby’s not everything and for Wilkinson it seems that it is…. Mmmm now what sermon can I craft around this…

Leave a Reply

