Planting for Christ

We’re just about to go public on a new church planting day conference. It’s called Planting for Christ. It’s on 4th May 2011. It’s at the Factory, Raynes Park, London SW20. You can find details here.

An ever increasing number of us have been meeting up a couple of times a year to talk about the nuts and bolts of church planting. And it’s been invaluable in helping me think through the judgment calls in ministry situations. I’ve mentioned the benefits before, when I blogged on it here.

Of the main attractions at the conference, I’d identify the following

1. Mark Driscoll will be speaking on ‘Who can plant churches?’, which given his experience with Acts 29 should be insightful and full of wisdom. But I can also imagine him ruffling a few feathers with some of his observations.

2. Richard Coekin will be speaking on ‘Why should we plant churches?’ It’ll be good to see how much Richard can add to Tim Keller’s material on this.

3. But it’s the seminar streams that I’d be most excited about. I happen to be doing one. But that’s not my point. Ed, Andy and I will talk about trying to identify, recruit and managed limited resources in a church plant but that’s about as far as I’ve got in my thinking on the matter. I’ll let you know whether it’ll be worth coming along to. But I’d be excited about the others. It’s an extraordinarily good line up of speakers. I can’t think of another conference where you’d get access to the likes of

That’s a good cross-section of Reformed Evangelicalism.

I’m hoping for mates rates.

5 thoughts on “Planting for Christ

  1. Pete February 3, 2011 / 10:03 pm

    Don’t you think coekers looks a bit larger than usual in that photo?

    • theurbanpastor February 4, 2011 / 10:27 am

      He’d argue that it’s the ski jacket not weight gain. I couldn’t possibly comment.

  2. Oliver Tucker March 16, 2011 / 11:27 am

    How does one sign up?

Leave a Reply

