London Men’s Convention 2011

There’s less than two weeks until this year’s London Men’s Convention (LMC). Aside from the fact that I’m helping to host the event on stage, I’m really looking to it. Obviously I’m excited to hear what Mark Driscoll has to say. But I’m especially looking forward to hearing British Bible teaching talent; namely Marcus and Rico. The experience of being in a male only choir, singing the praises of the Lord Jesus Christ, is exhilarating. Many a time, stimulated by that experience, I’ve imagined what it will be like when Jesus walks onto the stage in heaven. I haven’t got close to being accurate! The greatest sadness for me in recent years has been that as a result of being on the organising committee, I’ve not been able to hang around with the lads from church. In all honesty I can’t see any point in having the LMC if it doesn’t help guys like me, running local churches with our group of elders, and the men who are part of our congregations. It has to help the local church with its’ ministry to men. I’m hugely confident, under God, that the talks this year are going to help with that. We’re thinking about being faithful to Christ in our workplaces, our homes, our churches and in mission. Regrettably I won’t be part of the conversations that happen after the talks with the guys from church. But I’m pretty sure that there’ll be fruitful discussion and prayerful application in the breaks, over lunch and on the journey home.

Richard Coekin, the LMC Chairman, was interviewed recently and asked for three reasons to attend. Here are his answers.

2 thoughts on “London Men’s Convention 2011

  1. Nick May 10, 2011 / 11:23 am

    Many thanks for your talk of the LMC! Here was the first I’d heard of it and I’m so grateful that I got to go this year. 4000 men singing “Be Thou my vision” was a high point. Also good to hear multiple speakers pointing to Christ as the ground and focus of changed behaviour.

    • theurbanpastor May 10, 2011 / 11:31 am

      Thrilled that the LMC was beneficial, Nick. Every committee meeting we spend time praying that the convention will help men to live for Christ in their homes, workplaces, churches and the world. I’m delighted if it helped the guys who were there on Saturday to do that. Come back next year and bring your friends! Every blessing, Perks

Leave a Reply

