Off to the States

I’m off to America tomorrow. Not for ever, you understand. I couldn’t survive without the important things available only in England like tea, cricket and drizzle.

I’m off for a conference. It’s not the first time I’ve been to a Bible Conference in the States. I’m always keen to access their expertise. But it is the first time I’ve gone as a speaker. And it can’t be because they want to access mine! I wasn’t their first choice, as you might expect. But I am their last! They wanted Gavin McGrath. I mean, who wouldn’t?! But Gavin told them that they didn’t want him; they wanted me. They listened to some talks and saw no reason to disagree, which is encouraging.

Christ Church Carrollton, Dallas is the church hosting the conference. You can find out more about them here. They’re a recent church plant established initially as a result of the fallout from the rampant doctrinal revisionism of the Episcopal Church of which they were a part. They’re now a mission of the Presbyterian Church of America. You can find out a bit more about that here. They describe themselves as Christ centered, Bible focused, mission minded and reformed. Amen to that!

I’m so looking forward to going. Of course I’ll miss the family. And I’ll miss the Diamond Jubilee Celebrations, which I think Rosslyn is more put out about! It’s a big weekend in the United Kingdom. We’re celebrating sixty years of the rule of Queen Elizabeth the Second. You can find out more about that here! But it’s going to be a treat meeting Christian brothers and sisters in the States, enjoying what we have together in Christ, sharing what he’s called us to do in his service and encouraging one another to persevere in his strength. I’m hoping to sit down with Bill Lovell, their principle pastor and compare church planting notes.

You can find details of the conference here. That’s some speaker list. But given that I’m preaching on 1 Corinthians I’ve taken great comfort from 1 Cor 4:3, ‘But with me it is a very small thing that I should be judged by you or by any human court’. It’s the Lord who judges the quality and motives for our ministry. And so I’m trying to focus on the only audience that ultimately matters. It may be daunting to know that God is watching and listening. But it’s also liberating.

I’ll keep you posted on my experiences. I have some worries not least whether my, some might say, unique style of humour will translate. I’ll tell you what I make of the home of JR, the Cowboys and George W. Bush. But I think I’m in for a treat. You might pray that Christ Church Carrollton is as well!

5 thoughts on “Off to the States

  1. Lauri Moyle May 30, 2012 / 11:00 am

    Perks great that you are going. Just so you know PCA (PC of America) is different than PCUSA which commentators will tell you has gone or is going the way of the Episcopal church in the US.

    • theurbanpastor May 30, 2012 / 11:11 am

      Thanks – this one is PCA (sound) not PCUSA (dodgy) right?!

  2. Lauri Moyle May 30, 2012 / 11:16 am

    yes.

  3. MichaelA June 1, 2012 / 3:26 am

    Great to hear. May the Lord calm any nerves and show you what to say, and bless your ministry to others and their ministry to you.

    • theurbanpastor June 1, 2012 / 11:34 am

      Thanks Michael. It does feel that I’m somewhat out of my comfort zone!

Leave a Reply

