5 thoughts on “Coalition 4 Marriage Vid

  1. John Allister October 24, 2012 / 11:49 am

    Responses I’ve seen to it seem to be heavily negative. Use of “boy” and “girl” has paedophile overtones, and it seems to imply that childless marriages aren’t real marriages.

    I’m strongly pro-marriage, but I don’t think this helps much.

    • theurbanpastor October 24, 2012 / 4:36 pm

      I’ve not seen the responses John. I just assessed it on its own merits. I thought (and think) it’s pretty good actually. I’m not at all convinced that it’s guilty of the two things you identify. I’m not sure you can nail a vid for what it leaves out (childless marriages). And for anyone to think it had paedophilic overtones is to be travelling on an interpretative trajectory that I’m not willing to accompany them on! Isn’t it refreshing to see conservative/classical evangelicals using technology from the 21st and not the 17th century though?!

  2. John Allister October 24, 2012 / 6:29 pm

    Agreed that it’s good to see use of 21st century technology. I was just passing on a couple of the negative comments from when a friend posted the same video on Facebook.

    For what it’s worth, I think the “boy” and “girl” language is a bit twee, but copable with. The issue about childless couples is a more important one for that argument. If we see having children as part of the essence of marriage, even the purpose of it, as that video seems to suggest, then childless couples are being disobedient or might as well not be married. (Makes me think it’s from a RC or Federal Vision perspective maybe?) And if childless couples are permitted, then by the logic in that video, there’s no objection to gay childless couples either. It seems to me that both are equally violations of the principle.

    It’s a decent video against gay adoption though….

  3. Lauri Moyle October 25, 2012 / 12:50 pm

    Perks I think talking repeatedly about boy and girl and then dropping the “sexual energy” bomb seemed a bit awkward.

    I think it does not do enough to talk about old age and multi-generational nature of families.

    The production value is high, which is really great.

Leave a Reply

