Gay marriage, why all the fuss?

Gay marriage, why all the fuss? After all, the Government is only proposing to make it permissible. It’s not like they’ve made it compulsory. No one’s forcing me to do anything against my will. So why can’t we just let it happen? And by we, I mean Christians and Churches.

There seem to be so many good reasons just to keep our thoughts to ourselves on this one. And, I confess, I find that idea immensely attractive. It takes an absolute age to think it through, formulate my position and then articulate it carefully enough to get people to listen to reason. It rarely goes well when I try to explain what I think is compassion driven opposition to same sex activity. I get looks and emails. And not all of them say nice things.

Undeniably it would be much easier to keep our thoughts to ourselves on this one. And lots of Christians and churches have. They’ve just got on with living quietly for Jesus. And there may be wisdom in that. But what if we want to give our thoughts a voice, what then?

Don’t we paint ourselves as homophobic bigots when we speak against the Government proposal the redefine marriage in such a way that it can now include gay couples? After all, some opposition to this proposal comes from those who are anti-gay. So why court their company?

Aren’t we being unjust when we discriminate against gay couples and deny them the same right to marriage as heterosexual couples? After all, if only straight couples can get married then that’s unfair.

Aren’t we just arguing unnecessarily about the meaning of a word? After all, no one’s saying that a heterosexual couple who get married are no longer considered married because homosexual couples can go through the same ceremony.

Aren’t we expecting secular Government legislation to enforce Christian ethical principles upon an unbelieving society? After all, we can’t expect non-Christian people to follow Jesus Christ as Lord.

Aren’t we using scare tactics when we use the thin end of the wedge argument? After all, we’re a country mile away from the shambles of Sodom and Gomorrah.

Aren’t we fighting a losing battle on this one? After all, no one seems to agree with us. Is this really a hill worth dying on?

When you put it like that, you can’t help but wonder whether the sensible thing to do is to keep schtum. Even if you think society is going to hell in a handcart. Call me reckless if you must. Bigoted and homophobic if you so choose. But I think this remains an issue where I want to give my thoughts a voice, which I’ll do in the next blog post.

4 thoughts on “Gay marriage, why all the fuss?

  1. Aleksandar A Angelov February 9, 2013 / 2:27 pm

    I was thinking which kind of children such a couple would raise…What is your idea?

  2. Frankie February 9, 2013 / 4:23 pm

    Wow, how lovely to read this. My great grandmother used to say, “if you can’t say anything nice, better not to say anything at all”. I’ve wondered why believers of so many faiths have to be so shrill and not kind. I think people are more likely to wonder what makes you kind, rather than right.

Leave a Reply

