My Sunday Highlight

Finishing. That was my highlight. I know I ought to say something profound and find something suitably uplifting. But to be honest, just getting to the end of the day and stopping was my highlight. And it would be lying if I said it was anything else. That’s not to say that there weren’t really enjoyable and wonderful things about morning or evening church. There were. I had some great conversations. I met a new couple who want to settle with us. I laughed with some new friends. I caught up with some ‘strugglers’ who I care for. I really enjoyed preaching Acts 11. It was great to hear from our Women’s Minister Apprentice about the benefits of using ‘Uncover’ with unbelieving friends. I got a kick out of seeing a couple of the teenagers operating the PowerPoint. The kids’ slot was great. There was no spiritual significance to England’s thumping victory over Wales but it was nonetheless hugely enjoyable. But, I’ve got to be straight with you, the fact that my responsibilities were over was my highlight.

This had been quite a week. A combination of attending the Acts 29 Conference on the Tuesday, some personal care issues, additional responsibilities with Antioch, Rosslyn’s absence at Clergy Wives Conference and Men’s Weekend Away all contributed to a fuller than normal week. And 9pm marked the end. It all started again at 9am this morning (well it was supposed to, but I delayed staff prayers till ten). But at 9pm last night my weekend started. And it was terrific. Sadly, communication with number one son had not included the instruction to record Top Gear. But Channel 4 showed the film adaptation of David Nicholl’s novel ‘One Day’. And I had a chilled sauvignon blanc in my hand and my wife by my side on the sofa. Happy days.

There were lots of great things about yesterday. We talked about them in staff meeting this morning. And I’m very grateful to God for all of them.  But mostly, yesterday, I was happy that He’d got me through to the end of the week.

4 thoughts on “My Sunday Highlight

  1. Charlie Fadipe March 11, 2014 / 7:50 am

    Perks,
    Hang in there! Thanks for your honesty. Remember 1 Cor 15:58!

    Charie

  2. Phil March 11, 2014 / 2:23 pm

    Know that feeling – and iPlayer can sort the Top Gear problem.

    • theurbanpastor March 11, 2014 / 5:37 pm

      Oh yes it can. Saw it last night after growth group leaders prep!

Leave a Reply

